27 is over… (Updated List)

And just like that a year has flown by. A year that started at an excruciating snail’s pace of awfulness. A year that morphed into something so beautiful. A year that I will never, ever forget or regret. A year that I am so very sad to see end. I am feeling some sort of depression. Almost as if I am having to break up with 27. At 2:08am I turned 28. Twenty-eight. How unsexy does that sound? No, I don’t mean that I am no longer sexy because I am 28. 28 just doesn’t quite have the pizzazz that 27 did.

It’s raining here today. This could make me sad but it seems very fitting. I actually love the rain. I love the sound of it beating against my window. I love that I can stay in my pajamas and in my bed for a little longer. Here is what I can tell you: I plan on making the very most of the rest of my life. Each year will be wonderful in it’s own way. Each year I will gain new experiences. Each year I will grow into a better version of myself.

I was asked recently if I was going to be doing a list for every year. Although this sounds amazing I feel like I would surely do everything there is to do in this world by the time I am 50. And that is just not ok. So I am going to take it a little slower. I will be doing a new list. A list of 30 things to accomplish before I am 30. I have yet to decide if I will be creating a new blog or just updating this one.

No matter what I want to thank you for being a part of this year. I started this blog on a whim. And it has been something that has kept me sane this year. I have enjoyed posting (even though I was a slacker a lot and didn’t post everything…especially towards the end…but what can I say? I have been so crazy busy). Thank you for going on this journey with me. It’s been swell.

And without further ado…here is my updated list…in all it’s glory…or lack there of. 🙂

1. Get a tattoo (13.1 & ?)

I'm basically gangsta. My tattoo artist even agreed.

I’m basically gangsta. My tattoo artist even agreed.

So last week I went to this wonderful shop called Obscurities on Cedar Springs in Dallas. For the longest time I had known that I wanted to word Agape on my left wrist. It seemed obvious that this would be what I would get for my first tattoo. But life just doesn’t always work out in the ways we have planned. I left with two tattoos that day. One is the number 13.1 on my left foot to remember my half marathon I ran in Hawaii this year! It’s adorable and I love it. And one is even more special than that. I keep going back and forth on whether I want to share it or not but I can’t see why not. I kept thinking that I wanted to get the number 27 on me somewhere to keep this year close to me. I looked at all sorts of number fonts and body placements. I had settled on a cute 27 on my right side and then starting thinking that I didn’t want numeric font that instead I wanted the words twenty-seven written out. And then my friend, Alett, was a pure genius and suggested I get my blog logo. That is what I walked away with. My 20twenty7seven on my right ribs. And I couldn’t be happier.

2. Travel to 3 new places (Rhode Island, Boston, Boulder, Hawaii) 

Rhode Island, Boston, Boulder, Hawaii

Rhode Island, Boston, Boulder, Hawaii

Travel was definitely the best thing to happen to me this year. I learned so much about myself through each trip. I was so grateful that I had time to catch up with one of my best friends from college in Rhode Island and that she took me to Boston. It was a great trip that ended with 5 days in NYC with my Leos. A great start to my year. Boulder was next with my trip to visit Cailin around Thanksgiving. I fell in love with Boulder. I certainly enjoyed actually being hit on. Who knew I was a hot commodity in Boulder? And Hawaii. Oh Hawaii. A much needed trip that completely recharged my batteries. It was eye opening in so many ways. Seeing my friends as new parents to twins. Talking through heartache. Running my half marathon. Spending a few days by myself on the Big Island. It was just absolutely perfect.

3. Go on a road trip (Boulder) 

Boulder!

Boulder!

Such wonderful memories of Boulder. The road tripping itself not so much. I drove at night on the way there so I didn’t really get to take in the beauty of the trip. I did jam out to some great songs though. And, of course, on the return trip I wrecked my car on the ice. Still one of the scariest moments of my life. I did however get a beautiful new car out of the situation. And my Sweet Caroline is not only adorable…it is so much safer than my Orange Crush was.

4. Put a new stamp in my passport (Costa Rica) 

New stamp!

New stamp!

I really can’t believe I pulled this one off. I nearly had a heart attack not being able to locate my Passport. Thank God I live in a Dallas because I was able to head downtown and expedite a new one. I lived on the edge a little with this by purchasing the plane ticket before I had even scheduled an appointment at the passport place. So many fantastic memories with Cailin in Costa Rica. The Costa Rican men that ran the zipline at Arenal were probably my favorite!!

5. Go see both the Pacific and Atlantic Oceans (Atlantic at Jamestown, Rhode Island, Hawaii) Oceans

This was a suggestion given to me by my cousin. It was freezing the day I went to see the lighthouse at Jamestown but I was determined to stick my finger in the water. And in doing so a wave came up and jumped in my shoe. I screamed like a little girl and Fusco has it on film. And I went to countless beaches in Hawaii. The water was so nice. I also got in the water in Costa Rica which would have been the Pacific side and not the Gulf.

6. Take a yoga class (Uptown Yoga) 

This was rough. My friend Mel and I had a Groupon for this place. I had no clue what to expect. She took me to the hot yoga. I was drenched almost immediately and nearly passed out because I hadn’t eaten that day. I also let out a few choice words that she scolded me about.

7. Lose 10+ lbs and run regularly 

This was accomplished! Yes, I want to lose more weight. And yes, I want to continue to run on a regular basis. Right now I am not running as much as I had been previously. But I am still getting out there a time or two each week. It is so much harder in 100 degree weather!

8. Run it a least one race — ie. 5K, 10K, half marathon, marathon etc (Dallas Marathon – 6 miles of a marathon relay time on Dec 8. CANCELLED; finished the Big Island Half Marathon in HawaiiMud on yo face

I was concerned when the Dallas Marathon was cancelled for bad weather but Hawaii came about because it so I guess it all worked out beautifully. I don’t think I even completed my post about the Big Island Half. It was rough. And definitely tested me. It downpoured for atleast half of the race. Torrential downpours. And the wind was whipping at 40-60 miles an hour for parts of the race. But I finished that race! And I did it all by myself. No one to cheer me on. No one to run with.

9. Re learn how to swim  

Hmm…so this one hasn’t officially happened yet. I was going to do it this week but my tattoos still haven’t healed enough for me to get in the water. But I will be completing this by the end of the summer!

10. Work at a new theatre (this summer?) 

This one didn’t happen. And that is ok.

11. Take a real vacation (Hawaii, Costa Rica) 

Both were glorious in their own way. Costa Rica cost much more.

12. Go on at least 3 dates (So far away from accomplishing this!!!) 

Yeah. This one didn’t happen. I remember when I first started making the list I had put go on at least 1 date and my roommate quickly laughed at me and told me to put at least 3. That is would be easy. Welp that was a big, fat lie. I knew this one would be the hardest for me to do. Because I am awkward. Because people don’t hit on me. But I didn’t think it would make me feel sad in any way and it does a little. Not too terribly much. But a little. Oh well.

13. Kiss someone new (No comment) 

I should probably just stick with “No Comment” and call it good. This is crossed off the list but a lady never kisses and tells.

14. Host a party (Mad Men Holiday Party Dec 15) The BarsThe SpreadMad Men

This was an epic night of awesomeness! One that I hope to do again. I had such a blast hosting this party. If only I had a bigger place and could have had more people attend! I do have to say my mom was a huge help in planning this bad boy. She even helped me shop while she was in town.

15. Complete first draft of my book (In progress) 

I have this book in process. Something that is dear to my heart. But in the midst of this crazy year I didn’t devote much time to it. The first draft is not complete. And that is ok.

16. Write a short story (Encounter at the Airport) 

I actually wrote a few stories this year. Writing seemed to soothe my soul. My favorite is about an encounter at the airport.

17. Read a book a month (Hunger Games Series, The Help, Catcher in the Rye, My Story, Anthem, 

Sadly, I did not finish this. An easy one. The sad thing is I had every intention of doing the reading. I love to read. But I only love to read things that I find interesting. And I don’t always have time to investigate that.

18. Clean out my life — ie downsize belongings, de-clutter house (in progress)

Big ol negative on this one. I will have to in the next month when my sister moves to Dallas!

19. Visit at least 3 churches (Cornerstone at Highland Park United Methodist Church

I’m crossing this one off the list because I visited Cornerstone, Prestonwood, Fusco’s church in Rhode Island and my dad’s church in the panhandle. But honestly I have been attending Cornerstone on a pretty regular basis. I don’t really know anyone there, except my friend Tiffany who is about to move away from Dallas and leave me all alone, but I like it there.

20. See 3 old friends (RI- Fusco; Boston – Melissa; NYC – Kayliane, Anne Marie, Kevin B, Jenny, Hettie, Timmy, Kurt, Kegley; Boulder – Cailin; Dallas – Amber G, Charity, Tony C, Herman!; ) 

Loved seeing so many beautiful faces this year!

21. Take a pottery class (CAC — on waiting list) 

I’m super sad I didn’t make this work. It will be happening. I love pottery. I love being on a wheel. It is such a creative outlet for me that I haven’t had since college. And I will be fixing that soon.

22. Learn a new hobby (finishing old projects) 

So this turned into finishing up old projects. I took in a couple of my vintage swimsuits with help from a dear friend in the costume shop who helped fit me. I have another appointment with her to do the same with several of my vintage dresses. I also worked on a few articles of clothing that needed a little love. Quite the little seamstress I guess.

23. Try a new recipe once a month (This morphed into a dinner night each month with a friend) 

I thought this would be easy to accomplish especially with hosting a party. And I did try like 8 new recipes for that party. But this sort of morphed in to me having a dinner date or cooking with a friend once a month.

24. Go to 3 concerts (Mumford and Sons at Gexa, Michael W. Smith Christmas at the Meyerson, Ellie Goulding at Southside, Pink Martini and the Von Trapp Family Singers at the Annette Strauss, Tuneyards & Sylvan Esso at the GranadaConcerts

All so great! All at different venues.

25. Got to 3 different sporting events (Rangers Game x3; Stars game) 

I really didn’t want to have to count multiple Rangers games but oh well. I love Rangers games! And the Stars game was a blast too. Sporting

26. Go to 3 shows (Book of Mormon Broadway Tour; A Raisin In The Sun at Dallas Theater Center; Peter and the Starcatcher Broadway Tour at the Winspear; Assassins at Theatre Three; Waiting for Godot on Broadway; Little Miss Sunshine at Second Stage; Big Fish at the Neil Simon on Broadway; Snow Geese at the Freidman on Broadway; Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer at the Majestic; A Christmas Carol at Dallas Theater Center; Hedwig and The Angry Inch at the Bathhouse Cultural Center; On The Eve at Theatre Three; Lugo and Long at Pocket Sandwich; Fortress of Solitude at Dallas Theater Center; Cock at Second Thought, Booth at Second Though, Much Ado About Nothing at Shakespeare in the Park; A Winter’s Tale at Shakespeare in the Park in Addison) 

Shows

So many shows. And I think I am forgetting a few.

27. Audition for something (Dogfight?)

This didn’t happen. Which actually makes me sad. I wanted to cross that one of the list soooo bad. But it just wasn’t meant to be I guess. Next time perhaps.

So there you have it. My list. Incomplete. Sort of. But done. Now it’s time for me to get all cute and go roller skating because that’s what I want to do today. And on your birthday you get to do what you want.

Leave a comment